Your browser (Internet Explorer 6) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.
X

Top 3 complaints & resolutions for 4.4.0 release

Top 3 complaints

  • My screen is black
  • Where has avatar height offset gone?
  • Hidden buttons or media controls

Please see the following page for information on those issues. Frequently Asked Support Questions April 2013

  • I have been having bad problems with the viewer ever since i downloaded the update this afternoon includeing black screen, viewer not responding, and constant crashing. (yes internet is working). Hope this can get fixed soon thanks!

    Darla.

    Darla Adored

    April 23, 2013

  • Yeh i made the mistake of upgrading too? or should i say downgrading, it wont even start anymore and i have to go back to the LL Viewer.
    (Win 8 x64, Nvidia GPU)

    WolfFeather

    April 24, 2013

  • try opensims download if you have windows

    kate

    April 24, 2013

  • You said “try opensims download if you have windows” I didnt do it under the opensms but just under Current Version
    4.4.0.33720
    For SecondLife
    Firestorm for Windows
    What is the difference between the two??
    Carol Kemper

    Carol Kemper

    April 27, 2013

  • You can download the prior version. It is still available – http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/downloads

    LuisNJ Aristocrat

    April 24, 2013

  • Darla try going to the preferences/graphics/rendering and uncheck render glow. That worked for me

    Harpfairy Kas

    April 24, 2013

  • everything turned pink I had this once before on an update but I dont remember how to fix it. Do you know how ?
    thanks Roy

    Roy

    April 25, 2013

  • Go to Advanced Menu (Control Alt D) then to Debug Settings. Type in rendermaxtexureindex and change the number to 0. No more pink!

    Veronica Vervain

    May 1, 2013

  • I updated my viewer today and had this pink issue and this totally worked.. thank you!!!

    Courteney

    August 21, 2013

  • other then the height offset i am good with the new viewer and i like it so far i just hope that you can think of away to add it back to the quick pref tab.

    yukimura rumble

    April 23, 2013

  • I love the new update the colors are so much more crisp and clean making all the graphics so much more better. The options this update gives is making my life in second life much more enjoyable.

    Bullet

    April 23, 2013

  • Nice post! I have even lost the count about how many ppl asked those questions early today lol. And yeah, this release is great!

    Shadow

    April 23, 2013

  • I have nothing but troubles with this new viewer I crashing in and out of SL that I am about ready to leave SL and look for another 3d world to hang out in

    Prin Warwillow

    April 23, 2013

  • bad from start crash like 60 times a day am so fed up already singularity hold out better

    marilynlove

    April 24, 2013

  • You are gonna leave second life just because of your troubles with the firestorm viewer? That doesn’t make any sense to me at all! That’s like selling your car because you don’t like the new stereo you installed! The firestorm viewer is a “3rd Party” viewer. Also, today was rolling restart day which may log you out of SL due to LL doing region restarts. This has nothing to do with the new update.

    donivan

    April 24, 2013

  • lol

    bama32

    April 25, 2013

  • Well, donivan, thing is, SL should be fun. Crashing viewers or needing special classes in order to learn to use a viewer whose proper use should be second nature, is not fun. Result? Frustration. ….. BTW… After upgrading to the 4.4.1 version of FS everybody’s feet are distorted including my own. Everyone I look at has their feet poking out of their shoes and no way to fix. This does NOT happen with Phoenix or the LL viewer so I am assuming something is wrong with the latest FS release. Other than that, everything is stable, though not very ergonomic… but that just takes getting used to… :-)

    aruba19

    June 30, 2013

  • don’t let the door hit you in the back!

    Iala

    April 28, 2013

  • lala, your heart never rezzed did it?

    bilwis

    August 29, 2013

  • I am having major issues. My screen was black but i turned off the glow and now it is pink! and my received items folder has disappeared. how do i fix that?

    Lynn

    April 23, 2013

  • going to preferences then graphics and unchecking basic shaders will get rid of pink also.

    gino parisi

    May 9, 2013

  • So far, so good. I do miss the height offset. It seems like every time LL tries to fix one thing they break something else. Changing clothes seems a bit slower now, and I’ve heard lots of people complaining about things not rezzing until you right-click where they’re supposed to be and then they pop right in – I don’t know if this is a viewer or SL issue, but over all, I’m happy with this version.

    Mewling

    April 23, 2013

  • I have to agree somewhat to Mewling. I like this viewer, works great, with the exception of the things mentioned. Changing clothes seems slow, usually rebaking helps. Also noticed walls and such missing until you click, then they re appear. One big thing Ive also noticed, some avatars prim heads seem to me goofed, and the eyes are bulging out. Finally, textures seem to blur after being in a club for some time. Usually fixed by a relog.

    Myrth Whimsy

    April 27, 2013

  • Mostly the issues I am having with the new viewer is other avatars are showing up gray… Um… slow rebaking on new clothing being put on…

    Crystal Diabolito

    April 30, 2013

  • getting the annoying heads not rezzing right aswell eyes bulging out, clearing cache doesnt fix it, tping out doesnt fix it and im not reinstalling clean for a third time

    Crimson faith

    June 30, 2013

  • I have found a interim fix to the “missing objects/have to right-click to see them” issue. Do a Ctrl-Shift-R to go to wireframe, then repeat toggling back to normal view. All the missing items are now there. Yes, a band-aid, but is better than having to right-click everywhere.

    Skye

    May 14, 2013

  • Look, I’m sure the update is great, but, sadly, I have the pink textures going on. any thing that’s not a prim is PINK and misshaped… Can we get a fix for this?

    Rachel

    April 23, 2013

  • Thank you! You guys have (once again) done an impeccable job. No complaints from me, whatsoever. I did a clean install of this version, sat in Hatton until inventory loaded, logged out and back again and walla, I notice textures bake better, even in high lag sims.

    Fantastic! You’ve won my praise!

    Ivy

    April 23, 2013

  • I’m so mad and upset with this viewer I could cry. Crashing, failed inventory loading, and who knows what my avatar looks like after I see it one of these mystical magical days, I want to scream fo pushing the button to update!! grrrrrrrr.

    Lyric

    April 24, 2013

  • I think I will wait till Sever side baking makes my 29837 unusable.

    Connie Arida

    April 24, 2013

  • Too bad more people don’t pay attention to the linden blogs and posts– they would have known this was coming since last September and had been prepared for it— love the new viewer and better video- yeah some things don’t rez right immediately but that’s not the viewers fault, all we have to do is wait on the lindens to finish their end. Applause to the crew. Can’t wait for the rest. “Our worst enemy is an uneducated public” (quoted from someone famous)

    MJS

    April 24, 2013

  • Where are these announcements of LL please?

    June Oh

    April 24, 2013

  • Miro Collas

    April 24, 2013

  • I go to take a photo on “Ultra” graphics, and the right side stretches out… I turn off the “Advanced Lighting Model” and it doesn’t do it… This needs to be fixed… Photos are only their best when taken in “Ultra” and with shadows….

    Zoya

    April 24, 2013

  • Unfortunatley ur so called update is awful for me i cant even sign in since i updated the viewer ill be going back to the older version untill this issues IS in fact resolved( i usually wait for updates to get the bugs out and yes i have internet connection, no issues with the older version before the update) or ill be getting singualrity again till this is resolved…fix it please since i have read alot of comments of negative responces as well u may or should of waited for the update.

    Blood Jules

    April 24, 2013

  • Is anyone else having the problem of logging in with the new viewer, then getting approximately 30 minutes of playtime, then being kicked off. Then you go to relog again and it says you are being logged out of the region.

    Azdra

    April 24, 2013

  • Looks like you may be experiencing “rolling restarts”. I say this because the time you posted this comment is exactly during Linden Labs Rolling Restart time. Many people are being logged out about every 30 mins. or so. This has nothing to do with the new firestorm update. Linden lab restarts each region, hence the message that you get about the “region starting the log-out process”.

    donivan

    April 24, 2013

  • I took the update yesterday and been having 2 problems, crashing and stuff in folders disappearing, and I’m talking stuff for thousands of Lindens.

    Lamia

    April 24, 2013

  • I have plenty of troubles, and those are only those on first sight. Given maybe I just do not know how to (de-)activate some of them. Here goes:
    - on logon screen I cannot just hit enter to log in but must use the mouse on the logon button
    - inventory does not keep the folders open but closes them randomly when I open others
    - cannot click “zoom in” to cam people on mini map anymore (useful for mods)
    - the viewer does not save chatwindow sizing/position settings
    - height offset in quick prefs is missing (and yes I have read the reason for that, still missing it dearly)
    - Attachments on same spot are often not being applied on later logging on
    - Computer cooling fan goes nuts!!! (on several PCs, graphics drivers updated and all)

    Vio

    April 24, 2013

  • Hi!
    I just wanted to make a positive note:
    I am having no problems whatsoever with this new update!
    In fact, my frame rate is WAY up… Good job guys :)

    Linux/Debian 64-bit, Asus ENGTS450 Gfx card, 8 megs of RAM….

    Tjalfe

    April 24, 2013

  • Kinda love it, kinda hate it.
    I want it to work so much and when it does it is sooooo good.
    However right now (second day with new viewer) everyone is grey :(. Places are rezzing ok but everyone, inculding me, si just a grey sihouette. Please please fix it soon. I wanna be cute again.
    ^_^

    yukiyubari

    April 24, 2013

  • keeps crash so wot point of new viewer

    marilynlove

    April 24, 2013

  • Sorry to tell you but I switched back to official viewer after getting tired of dealing with new issues with your viewer after each update, it broke my heart as I was one of your biggest fans but its just not worth the hassle anymore, Slow texture loading, random crashes, inventory loses because of this viewer and etc. all adds to why I had enough of it, maybe if you would have testing it before releasing it you wouldn’t screw up big this time.

    Annoyed Fan

    April 24, 2013

  • If you watched the latest Q&A session, you’d know that they’re pretty much forced to release a non-finished product because SSB is looming so close. They apologized for the bugs but there’s really nothing they can do; it would be much worse if when they rolled SSB out everyone was on a viewer that didn’t support it at all.

    Up to you which viewer you want to stick with, but if you’re really frustrated with bugs I’d say come back in a month or two. Firestorm is worth it! :D

    @ShaunDreclin

    April 25, 2013

  • I am pleased so far, no issues of any significance. As an active role player I have to say that LL’s fix for problems with the height offset is NOT adequate. It really breaks up play to have to edit your shape whenever a pose puts you above or in the floor or furniture, for instance. I don’t know if the wonderful height offset in quick prefs can ever be returned but it was the feature I probably used most often. :P

    Molly Footman

    April 24, 2013

  • uhm, i have absolutley no problems and everything works FASTER, especially the movements are now really fluid on my system, thanks for that! (i love i see now my avatar blinking eyes, so cool, and dances OMFG!)
    thank you, thank you, thank you ♥

    anon

    April 24, 2013

  • I’m having an issue that I’ve only seen with the newest update: In the Kitely Grid (an OpenSim grid) a lot of items are glowing bright yellow. I’ve tried editing the environment setting but even at midnight white and grey and other stuff that aren’t supposed to be yellow are glowing bright yellow.

    Other than my issue I’ve noticed that the graphics in SL look much more crisp and everything is loading faster with the new viewer.

    ShowStopper

    April 24, 2013

  • Also, when I try to build or edit something, I can’t rotate on an axis. I can only rotate objects at angles different from the angle I’m trying to rotate them at and it’s quite frustrating. Please bring back the feature that made it easier to rotate objects on an axis of X, Y, or Z.

    ShowStopper

    April 24, 2013

  • The new viewer overall has only had 1 problem with me. The build so far seems very stable and has yet to crash after my intensive testing and usage (and being very angry and LL for forcing this ridiculous change to the height offset option). But one issue I have is performance. I get constant lag spikes, I cannot run smoothly at the same graphics settings I ran on the previous release, and still get some edit mode lag spikes when working with mesh objects.
    I do hope to see the issues resolved since I do like taking some nice pictures without trying to hard to pan the camera to that angle and I build almost every login.
    Also if I turn off “Lighting and Shadows” then log off, then open the viewer again, the text is mushed up, blurry, and difficult to read. just tossing that in there.

    Phillip Aubin

    April 24, 2013

  • This Version does NOT work for me! Super slow loading of textures, sound stream is clipping all the time, my own skin kept blurred even after hours, low frame rates. I never had problems with former Firestorm versions. I did clean install and graphic drivers are up-to-date. I will go back to fs 3.5 for now and will check the Linden viewer as well (forgot how it looks like after years of firestorm ;).
    Well, this time – at least for me – you failed my dear Firestorm-Team, but i would like to thank everyone for the great work during all these years.

    akira

    April 24, 2013

  • *Giggles*

    Actually , my brain ain’t sooo bovvered bout upgradin nothin now, is it babe ??

    Who ain’t gonna wanna run naked thru a room fulla grey blobs an partially-formed cloudy ppl , darlin ??

    This could end up bein quite good fun , I thinks ;p

    DO it , LL , hun : Flick that switch an wotch my Xcite Turbo Mk. IV wander , invitinly , thru ur , oh-so-important , imaginary meetins .

    Errr – does anyone know where them Linden folks actually hangs out , sweetheart ???

    Ta . E x x

    Ewanme Botha

    April 24, 2013

  • Ha ha, sunshine. Don’t forget to take your teeth out first. *winks*

    See you down The Bell End for a swift half-gallon sometime, E ??

    Dave x

    Dave Figgley

    April 24, 2013

  • My partner is grey to me since yesterday, I just see his head and shoes ok, the rest of him is like grey clay… Please what can I do about this? Thats the only issue we have (and all looks fine on his side). When i log in with SL old viewer he looks fine, tried to relog lots of times, tp away and back again, but nothing helps…

    Mendy Emmons

    April 24, 2013

  • after following recommendations, I ended up with constant crashing – a result of my ati graphics card – my eventual solution was to use windows restore to move my system back to before I installed 4.4.0 (and upgraded graphics drivers), and found that the installation alone, with my crusty graphics driver works fine – any attempt to upgrade that causes instability – perhaps there is some buried wisdom there, any my experiences of 4.4.0 seem good, all credit to the support guys, they are getting some pretty intense feedback inworld …

    Derek

    April 24, 2013

  • I was NOT impressed with this upgrade. Super slow, super choppy, laggy, and everything does not rez, and when it does, it goes clear and blurry back and forth. I went back to 4.3.

    Elora Danick

    April 24, 2013

  • having the same issues with the textures and also having to click mesh to get it to rezz

    michael25843 darkstone

    April 24, 2013

  • I am having the same issues that others are reporting. Other avatars are grey, or partially rezzed. I can see some attachments, but their bodies are grey. Other than that, the viewer is working fine for me, it seems faster.

    LuisNJ Aristocrat

    April 24, 2013

  • Well all i can advice is some that open sim users already know for long!
    Rebake every time you change an outift, rebake every time you tlp!
    Left crtl+left alt+r
    Open sim version has no issues on Osgrid for me;)

    foneco zuzu (@ZZBottomHL)

    April 24, 2013

  • Why Why Why did you take away height offset?? OMG!!! please bring it back!!! Being a photographer in sl, I use that feature non stop, and have introduced it to many clients, who later on thanked me for showing them, that amazing feature. I am so sad:(

    Tushie Pookes

    April 24, 2013

  • Tushie, you can adjust your height or your models using the new “Hover” setting in Shape Edit. If you want fine control of your models I use Lumipro which allows me to control poses, height and movement in all axes.

    Cheers,
    Georgie

    Georgie Tungsten

    April 25, 2013

  • It was Second Life that changed where it was to be to work with the upcoming Serverside Baking.

    Ben Rascal

    April 25, 2013

  • This isn’t the place to ask for – or get help. There are multple better places. Please see:
    http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/getting_help

    Also, be sure to do a full clean update, which includes wiping settings manually:
    http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/fs_clean_reinstall

    Miro Collas

    April 24, 2013

  • Read the post, go to the help it provides.

    http://letteponnier.blogspot.com/2013/04/fasqapril23.html

    God helps those who help themselves.

    Cincia Singh

    April 24, 2013

  • I downloaded and installed version 4.4.0 (33720) for OS X. This only ended up sitting there running not responding and crawling my computer and didn’t even get the app window for it.

    Gabryel Dreamscape

    April 24, 2013

  • Where’s the “enable personality” function in case I encounter one of those LL spy/tracker bots?

    Pee Stains

    April 24, 2013

  • upgraded to a downgrade cant use firestorm at all now just crashes all the time , slow unresponsive, sucks the life out my pc . why fix something which wasnt broken? even my phone does a better job with its app. whats going on?

    Go11um

    April 24, 2013

  • Have been having problems with firestorm with windows 8.. have to have the quality all the way down to low due to if its on medium the game flashes… wut can i do to help this?

    Emerald Rebelheart

    April 24, 2013

  • A friend and I have issues when we click on our name on top of our head (right button on mouse) when we want to see our profile! It’s freezing sl then we need to close the viewer. Has there been a complaint about that yet?? thank you Cinneh buns!

    Cinneh Buns

    April 24, 2013

  • You say do a CLEAN install of it well i have reformatted my computer because of this so called update it enitrely messed everything up… now i cant even log in and it keeps crashing even before i log in u lost a fan of Firestorm….used to love now i cant even log in ill be keeping singularity now thanks…

    Blood Jules

    April 24, 2013

  • smh this the worst verison of firestorm still cant load or stay on contineing to crash and dont tell me i need do a charpter test cus i did it and still doesnt respond i thing ya should go back and fix or make a whole new viewer cause all this adding features and blahh ur messing the scripts more nxt time take your time then haveing to rush cause of people this a failed operation. negative 1

    Staci Scorpio

    April 25, 2013

  • They had to make changes because of Linden Labs changing out clothing and avatar appearences are loaded, they will soon be done on SL’s servers instead of by the viewer itself. Linden Labs has yet to fully make the switch over. I personally have no problems besides what I usually have with having to run graphics fairly low, but that’s because of my graphics card not being real high end and capable of handling Ultra settings. before logging in could try to edit your preferences and put it on low and see if that might help any. That or wait a bit util SL finally switches over within the next week or so to see if it’ll work more probably. I’ve also heard of instances where when people upgraded their video cards as well for the upgrade that there was some compatibility issues that were resolved when the users rolled back their video card to a slightly earlier version. I unfortunately can’t upgrade my video card so I din’t have this particular issue.

    Ben Rascal

    April 25, 2013

  • When i first ran the new viewer it gave me a link to update my graphics driver, said i may see second life better or something to that affect so i did and there was an update for my AMD graphics driver.. maybe if you get that message try doing the same thing for those having graphics issues.. just a suggestion.

    bama32

    April 25, 2013

  • Only BIG issue I have with this viewer is… why is everything blurry? HELP!

    leGustav

    April 25, 2013

  • I find the upgrade on my desktop very slow, which will become a major problem, much more so than the previous version with no other changes. On my laptop it keeps telling me to upgrade the graphics drivers which are already at the latest versions and when I follow the tweaks to get rid of the black screen effect, I first get a pink one then after playing with other settings get something with the most primitive graphics. Phoenix on the other hand gives superb graphics so it isn’t a hardware or comms issue is it?

    deb farlight

    April 25, 2013

  • is anyone still having rezzing issues`?! and change clothes is so slow!!! also inventory folders dissapears and when i try to change clothes to my avi its not rezzin on me! evryone is grey!!! also myself it is annoyin
    also right click at things they not loaded! and crashes also with clean install
    is that sl issue? or viewer?
    please fix this problems

    dada

    April 25, 2013

  • wish firestorm really released a window 64b version, seems they do believe there is no diff betwen 32b and 64b 1, i don’t agree with that and use niran’s alpha ssb version that is compiled only for win 64b now!

    foneco zuzu (@ZZBottomHL)

    April 25, 2013

  • A word of warning before installing Niran’s read up on how to un-install it in case you not like it.
    It is too complex for me so wanted to un-install it then I found it does not appear in the Control Panel – Programs to be un-installed.
    I think I have got rid by using the System Restore.

    June Oh

    April 25, 2013

  • Sorry … I just downloaded and installed NIranV’s viewer and it’s the same as the rest … 32 bit large address aware … not 64 bit.

    Cincia Singh

    April 25, 2013

  • I completely agree on the need for a true 64-bbit viewer! I would like to see the market research that justifies the ROI on supporting Linux, but not having a 64-bit viewer for Windows option! Show me the money!

    Valiant Westland

    April 28, 2013

  • My problem is – the new viewer cannot find my graphic card it seems…
    The old viewer finds my gts 160 m – the new one doesnt…
    there is a way to change this?

    ralna

    April 25, 2013

  • Add one more complaint.
    The new location of the block button on menus. I blocked so many of my objects and things with it..

    Sugar

    April 25, 2013

  • The Occlusion Wait issue got even worse with this release,….

    I zoom in on someone, and as soon as I zoom out again, it starts, FPS dropping to around 5fps,… Always having ~250ms on Occlusion Wait or Readback Occlusion.

    Nvidia 560TI

    Obscuria Cyannis

    April 25, 2013

  • For those of u experiencing black screen or pink screen I highly recommend that you upgrade your graphics driver. In a previous FS release, there was an issue with a pink screen in which a fix was to upgrade the graphics driver and it fixed it. I have not had any issues since upgrading to this new version. Its actually helping my computer to run better. I am not missing the height offset at all. I never used it to begin with.

    Amitylynne LeShelle

    April 25, 2013

  • mac os x users can NOT, upgrade graphics drivers as the drivers are part of the OS , the chipsets are built into the motherboard , if upgrading becomes the ONLY option to fix these graphics problems,then mac OS X users will no longer be able to use firestorm and firestorm will become a windows only platform. the ONLY upgrade option for mac OS X users is to spend up to 5000 $ CDN on a new mac computer with better drivers, MOST of us mac users CAN NOT AFFORD TO SPEND 5000$ ON A NEW MAC JUST TO USE THE NEW UPGRADES OF FIRESTORM.

    Temba

    April 26, 2013

  • The days of Firestorm being a great viewer to use have been over for a very long time. Yes, they have a lot of options and features. And yes, they managed to reduce the number of times the program closes on its own on average ( the crash rate they never fail to excessively boast about) but in every other way is an absolutely terrible viewer with its excessive level of bugs, many of which are show stoppers for a lot of people and those features and options are just not worth the horrendous countless bugs. And not to mention performance, where in many tests between Firestorm and V3 viewers with identical settings and on different times and places and occasions i always get at least 20 – 30 fps more in the other viewers. It is clear that their developers are good at just adding some features and options but are completely incompetent in just about everything else.

    Ever since this latest Firestorm was released, it is been talked about so frequently by people in crowded locations in local chat all around about how they had to switch to the LL viewer or to a different SSB capable viewer to escape the black screens and the sea of gray avatars. I have never heard of a viewer being talked about so much in a negative way in local chat all around SL and so frequently in my 5 years of having been in world. I have also never heard so many times before in local chat how people had to switch to the LL viewer or a different viewer to have a usable SL experience.

    Jameson

    April 25, 2013

  • This is why it was dumb of them to stop updating their Phoenix viewer. Firestorm has never run properly on my high end comp, which runs Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, monster graphics card and 8GB of RAM. Phoenix always ran well and ran consistently with few or no crashes, and I never got a black screen at all. With Firestorm I get it no matter what I do. It’s not the users to blame, and I’m tired of Jessica Lyon treating every complaint like it’s the users’ fault.

    Wolfenstein Sequoia

    April 26, 2013

  • Look it isn’t the users fault it is a matter of some configurations running better than others, Optimizing it to your best spec might make it worse for thousands of others. Accept the fact that nothing works perfectly for everybody, for some it’s golden for others it’s shite. The point is not to make your experience the best, but to make it the best for as many as possible. Making your experience the best is YOUR job. Stop dumping all your troubles into the laps of a group of generous hardworking volunteers and contribute something beyond snide derision.

    Warm in Baal’s embrace,
    Georgie

    Georgie Tungsten

    April 26, 2013

  • And yet, most of the serious problems afflicting the latest release were caused by exactly what you told Wolfenstein not to expect, the optimizing for some which in the end causes problems for thousands of others.

    The black screen plague was caused by the lead Firestorm developer hacking on numerous occasions the rendering code that LL wrote for ATI cards. In the attempt to optimize for some, she caused problems for thousands of others. The LL viewer does not have the black screen plague, but Firestorm does. First example of attempted optimization gone terribly wrong.

    The large amount of grey avatars was caused by one of the Firestorm developers overwriting the code that LL wrote for how avatar textures should be fetched in the viewer. The LL software, both viewer side and server side is designed to have avatar textures fetched via UDP even if other world objects and textures are fetched via HTTP. And yet, the firestorm dev kept overwriting LL’s code on numerous occasions and insisted that avatar textures are fetched via HTTP instead in Firestorm. That unsupported hack to optimize for some once again caused problems for thousands of others. The LL viewer does not have the large number of gray avatars problem, but Firestorm does. Second example of attempted optimization gone terribly wrong.

    And then there is the relentless crashing that many are experiencing often followed with the vertex buffer error message. In fact, this is probably what is causing your BSODs that you keep mentioning in your posts. The lead Firestorm developer made a few attempts at optimizing the vertex buffer objects code over the past few months. And yet there are many experiencing ridiculous crashing rates with the vertex buffer error message. Once again, attempted optimization gone terribly wrong.

    Everything i mentioned here is publicly visible for anyone who wants to see what the Firestorm devs do line for line to their code at http://hg.phoenixviewer.com/phoenix-firestorm-lgpl/ . Whether or not they care to look there or understand what they see there is a different story. In the end, Georgie, it is not Wolfenstein who should be hearing talk about optimizing for some and causing problems for thousands of others, it is the Firestorm developers who should be hearing it.

    Jameson

    April 30, 2013

  • “The LL viewer does not have the black screen plague”
    Wrong actually – see https://jira.secondlife.com/browse/BUG-2425 (Textures are black with turned on Atmospheric shaders )

    Vertex Buffer out of memory crash – Viewer 3 is plauged with this too on SSA builds, example: https://jira.secondlife.com/browse/BUG-2295 (unexpected crash)

    Grey avatars – The Viewer 3 release with SSA code only went out today, and already there are reports of grey avatars on it.

    Also, you can see how “terribly crashy” Firestorm is compared to other viewers by its placement on the TPVD here: http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Third_Party_Viewer_Directory

    It has the lowest crash rate apart from Radegast, which is a text based viewer.

    I suggest you do your homework better next time and actually try to understand what you see in the repository you linked to .

    Whirly Fizzle

    May 1, 2013

  • Jameson, what exactly do you DO aside from tell other people who actually DO things what they should do? I’m pretty sure the Firestorm team is aware of these issues and working to fix them but just what is it that you contribute aside from some armchair quarterbacking here? If you are as adept as you seem to expect others to be why aren’t we seeing fab new fixes coming from you?
    If you have a problem It is entirely reasonable to mention it here and even better file in the JIRA. Criticizing the team is only legitimate if you have hired them to work for you, or you have offered something better which they refuse to look at or implement. Aside from those cases it’s just kvetching and bombastcation.

    I know bombast intimately,
    Georgie

    Georgie Tungsten

    May 9, 2013

  • Everything was going great until I lost over 30 THOUSAND things in my inventory! WTH! We are talking hundreds of RL $ here! I NEVER had this problem before. I have tried clearing cache twice…going to Pooley…NOTHING! OMG! Please tell me you are going to fix this issue and restore our inventory losses. I see I am not the only one with this same issue!

    Scarlettleizabet

    April 25, 2013

  • Lots of crashes!

    LilaSidwell

    April 25, 2013

  • June Oh

    April 26, 2013

  • due to the serious complaints, i have decided NOT to download the update, also there is serious memory leaks with this upgrade from what i’m hearing from people. due to serious problems with this upgrade firestorm is no longer my viewer if choice, LL,s viewer is now my viewer of choice as it has yielded the best results. mac OS X, 10.6.8,

    Temba

    April 26, 2013

  • umm where can i fin the previious version of phoenix or friestorm cause ii cannot like everytime i put on mesh my alphas arent showing like is it the update or wat cause i d k

    Asia Mixmaster

    April 26, 2013

  • excellent update! on my macintosh everything is running smoothly, and an improvement over previous version. no complaints from me!
    i love, love, love my firestorm viewer. i try the other third party viewers from time to time, but always come back to firestorm.

    thisbe blackadder

    April 26, 2013

  • My invent only loading for 1/3, after clearing my whole cashe folder i have my invent back, but i dont think this is the idear every login to do that? and yes im having a large invent im builder so..
    I lost a lot from my invent with the new viewer…
    But dont want to do this everytime im login in to SL.. is there a possebilety to resolved that to? other wise i have to search for a viewer who dose work well…

    ladyy Haven

    April 26, 2013

  • Nirans Viewer Infos:
    Sys Requirements (recommended):
    CPU: Quad Core (3.000 mhz upwards)
    GPU: NVidia Geforce GTX 460 and higher
    RAM: 6GB
    OS: Windows 7 64bit Edition
    A Brain.

    foneco zuzu (@ZZBottomHL)

    April 26, 2013

  • and it is running fine for me and i only have a dul processor.
    Excelent wotk FS. These people complaining are less than 1 per cent of the people ususin FS. Fix ther problems yes . But take her insuilts to heart. NO

    Carol Kemper

    April 27, 2013

  • Oh I was talkign abut the Nirans Viewer requirments. I find it no better than FS
    I believe a lot these problems are on the LL side

    Carol Kemper

    April 27, 2013

  • I have above all the stated requirements & more & I still have the out of texture memory error
    PC: Windows 7 and/or 8
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2400 CPU @ 3.10 GHz 3.10 GHz
    installed Memory 16.0 GB
    64-bit Operating System, x64 based processor
    nVidia GT 630 4GB Video
    nVidia GT 640 2GB Video (both video combined totals 6GB memory share, which is done by nVidia HDCP & Crossfire)
    1x 2TB internal
    1x 3TB internal
    1x 2TB eternal (USB)
    1x 3TB eternal (USB) (so cant say not enough hard drive space)
    I do not get this error under SL’s own viewer, but I do not use prefer firestorm, the error can happen after either a club filled with over 70+ people on the sim or if I have been TP’ing to may different clubs/stores, it has also happened if I change a few times, even if I am on my own sim, or any other place :)

    Kenji Hyx

    September 1, 2013

  • I forgot to mention that with the error, I do get a count up in texture errors, the highest I ever received was 83 before firestorm crashed

    Kenji Hyx

    September 1, 2013

  • Still, Open sim version of Firestorm is without a doubt, the best option for all that enjoy more then SL!
    So maybe instead of logging in SL, for once try any of the hundred of available open sim grids for a change!

    foneco zuzu (@ZZBottomHL)

    April 26, 2013

  • Love the new viewer, especially the ability to now back up your viewer settings! woot! Keep up the great work!

    Lion Valentino

    April 26, 2013

  • Well plain n simple linden labs has been updating since they started second life and been fucking up ever singal time and they have not yet learn to leave shit alone so yeah…. its not firestorm al even bet on it as am a 2003 player ^_-

    spiderman..

    April 26, 2013

  • Hi , i never posted on here but its also because i have never seen this before , when i try to upload mesh models i keep crashing no matter if the file is voluminous or not , and it is being quite a pain in my bum lol

    Alexandra

    April 26, 2013

  • Only issue I’m having is that every time I edit a system clothing layer and hit save, it is removed and I have to go back to the folder and wear it again. When I wear clothing that I recently made, it shows as worn but doesnt show on the avatar. I have to “edit outfit” and suddenly it appears on my body. I can still make clothes but its quite a pain with this update.

    Spooky

    April 26, 2013

  • I would sincerely like to thank the whole Firestorm team from dev to support, for all their effort to keep Firestorm the most efficient and user friendly viewer for SL.

    Reading 80% of these comments just makes me want to punch against a wall, or something. Yes, the release has some quirks. For some more, for some less. Every sane person should realize, that not EVERY issue one experiences is the viewer code’s fault. Features or functionality can be influenced by MYRIADS of reasons, most of them comming form one’s hardware, software and ISP specifications.

    I cannot BELIEVE how some people respond here. Unreasonable, rude, offensive, on a personal level even …

    Some people should be reminded that:

    1) There’s people creating thid viewer out of the MERE passion for it. They are doing this for free!

    2) This “worst viewer release ever ” is available to us for FREE. Show some respect!

    3) Jessica Lyon and pretty much every name on the team pointed out MANY times, that they are under pressure because of the major LL updates on server side baking. They announced CLEARLY that this and possibly further releases will not be as stable for everyone, as recent ones have been. People would have had the chance to know what they were signing up for. It’s not the dev team’s fault, that people don’t stay informed about what they install.

    Personally, I have minimal problems with this release. And if I encounter one, I contact the support group in a FRIENDLY, RESPECTFUL manner, get perfect advise there, or file a JIRA which has also been attended to fast efficient. Doers anyone really think that name calling and telling people what crap they made help to solve anything?

    Anyway, preaching to an empty church is futile I suppose.

    To Jessica and every individual on the team:
    Thanks again for giving me the best viewer possible!!!
    I’ve supported this project back since 2007, even if the viewer names and project members changed. And I will do so, till the day I’m not able to hold my mouse any more.

    PS: I’m curious about any responses. Especially those that will undoubtedly confirm my statement.

    Peebee

    April 26, 2013

  • Hugs you!

    Jessica Lyon

    April 26, 2013

  • Hugs back extra tight!

    Peebee

    April 26, 2013

  • I agree with your view. I too read about what’s coming, and may make things hard for some people so, I’m not totally shocked if something isn’t quite like it used to be.

    I do miss the old height adjustment, but realize that’s the fault of LL and not the FS team. I’ve long held that when ever LL tries to “improve” one thing they usually succeed in ruining something else, but isn’t that the way it’s always been?

    I also miss the log-in picture you used to get with Set Home to Here, but i can live without it.

    As for things not rezzing until clicked, i don’t know if that’s an LL issue or viewer, but i’ve heard people with other viewers talk about the same thing, so I suspect it may be an LL issue.

    I did notice at first it took a long time to change outfits, but now that I’ve been running it a while that seems to have resolved itself unless i wear something I haven’t in some time, so i imagine it’s a matter of texture population in the cache.

    So, if FS isn’t working for you try another one – they’re all free, and no one is holding a gun to your head.

    I’m just waiting for them to throw the switch on SSB to see if we all don’t look like noobs.

    Mewling

    April 26, 2013

  • Thought i’d mention this here. The last version I’ve used that didn’t have and still doesn’t have the issue with objects not rezzing until clicked and items such as doors not moving until used a second time was 4.2.2.29837. After testing other viewers and not getting this behavior in various regions on any but versions after 4.2.2.29837 I’ve become sure it’s not a LL issue but some change made in the viewer since that Firestorm version. I have noticed that an area loaded with sculpted objects can drag down the performance of this latest version alot more noticably than past versions as well.

    Rel Klaber

    May 24, 2013

  • Double Plus Ultra Indeed PeeBee. I have never encountered such a massive conglomeration of self centered whiny lazy never bother to READ anything crybabies who somehow manage to think the team was building a viewer just for them. I have a few BSODS but all in all, and I says this as a club worker using FS in hight traffic areas on Ultra and as a Photographer running on a 500 dollar 2 cored AMD, with 8 Gig of memory and a GTX 560SE. This build For Me mind you is impressively delicious, I don’t claim it is for all and sometimes the builds suck for me but THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU Team for all your hard generous work.

    Blessed to have fine folks doing this,
    Georgie

    Georgie Tungsten

    April 26, 2013

  • AMEN Peebee

    JonPaul

    April 27, 2013

  • I totally Agree. FS You are doing great and don’t deserve this

    Carol Kemper

    April 27, 2013

  • Not a problem at all with the new release! When I fired it up, I was told hey dummy updates your graphics drivers. I did, works great, does what it’s supposed to do. All on my little laptop too.

    AMD Quad Core with Nvidia
    Nothing special inside

    Sacker

    May 1, 2013

  • [...] Top 3 Complaints & Resolutions for 4.4.0 Release Firestorm Viewer. [...]

    Firestorm Viewer Fixes

    April 26, 2013

  • Is SSB actually live across the SL grid? Or how soon if not? Any official date given to the team? Like the new FS viewer by the way.

    David

    April 26, 2013

  • Your explanation is invalid. I did a clean install and I still get nothing but a black screen. Obviously if so many people are having the same issue, it is not them failing to do a clean install.

    Wolfenstein Sequoia

    April 26, 2013

  • OMG this is the worse update I have ever had, and I use to be on RLC, the lag is the worse,everyone is gray, can’t more or change clothes because it takes so long. PLEASE fix this, or if anyone know of a better viewer I can download.

    Chicki

    April 26, 2013

  • This update sucks for Windows 8 it is trash!

    Kawazoe Kukulcan

    April 27, 2013

  • I can’t take photos with shadows. The viewer crashed every time I set graphics on ultra. Is this only me?

    stina edman

    April 27, 2013

  • Looking at this here blog, one should keep in mind that it represents only the views of very few Firestorm users, some of which, like Michael K., are just trolls anyway. What with general acceptance, the stats tell me another story: The current release’s predecessor (4.3.1.31155) has been downloaded about 480,000 times (Second Life version only) since it has been published on December 2, 2012. The current release 4.4.0.33720 (Second Life version only) has been downloaded 78,000 times within just four days. If I compare that to the couple of dozens of comments on here… Well.

    Raymond Martinek

    April 27, 2013

  • The number of downloads vs. the number of comments on this blog mean absolutely nothing. To imply that most users are happy with the release just because most users are silent about it on the blogs is really quite silly. The users who have not posted here have said absolutely nothing, neither positive or negative. They are not here praising or complimenting the viewer, nor are they here speaking negatively of it either. One could just as easily make the blind assumption that most people hate the new release based on their silence here. Either way, nobody truly knows. Countless thousands could have downloaded the program, tried it, determined it to be trash, deleted it, then moved on to a different viewer.

    Jameson

    April 27, 2013

  • They could have Jameson , but I’m not seeing any mass migration figures yet and many like myself, other than an occasional BSOD are actually running smoother harder better faster and stronger so, using the mentality of how the viewer works only in regard to myself GO TEAM GO don’t change any of the stuff troubling the people who have problems as it might affect me negatively. I’m happy , that is all that matters, Regardless of how any bug fixes might enhance the experience for howver many users you should just keep it as is because my rig and SL experience are the only thing that matters. ( for those of you with a density rivaling depleted uranium, I am being sarcastic)

    Basking in smug self satisfaction,
    Georgie

    Georgie Tungsten

    April 28, 2013

  • Don’t underrate the impact of word-of-mouth recommendations. Bad news travel fast on Second Life.

    Whatever. I myself don’t have any issues with this release. Good enough.

    Raymond Martinek

    April 28, 2013

  • I have a problem its a little different I have tried to do a clean reinstall but it keeps coming up as it starts to load it only has one bar coming up saying cleaning cache and then nothing I wait for awhile and then when I click on it goes gray so wat am i doing wrong ? please help thank you I also try installing reinstalling and resting my computer I followd the clean reinstall and still same problem it wont load

    suzziistar

    April 27, 2013

  • Is there not away I can get my avi feet out of the floor now????

    MzSoFineSoBadRE32 Zenora

    April 27, 2013

  • Some little problems. But the show-stopper for me is accessing textures with the Build tool. Clicking on the texture on the texture tab, unless it is the default plywood, freezes the viewer for ONE to TWO MINUTES! Something is borked about retrieving textures from the server in this version. PLEASE fix this asap… I have to go back to the prior version until you do, cause I’m doing a lot of building.

    Sudane…………………………………..

    Sudane Erato

    April 27, 2013

  • Not a comment but more of a inquiry. a friend of mine has been having issue with her old clothes in this new viewer. She looks in the folders that she had them in and they are no longer there. But they all worked fine on the old viewer. Is there a reason for that and if so how can she get those clothes back on this new viewer?

    Tim G

    April 27, 2013

  • This is one hell of an update….and not in a good way. The old saying “If it’s not broke, don’t fix it” definitely applies. It now takes an average of 30 minutes, before EVERYTHING stops being grey. I have done every little tip, trick and suggestion to cure this, and nothing works. Exodus viewer, here I come.

    James

    April 27, 2013

  • Sadly, I will be using the old version till this one is fixed. I can’t even open the viewer, let alone use it. I’ve done the necessary guidelines in case that had anything to do with it, but suppose it wasn’t. Good thing I saved the other viewer as back up on my flash drive before I tried any of this. Hope you guys get these problems fixed soon, and make it easier for users to access.

    DemoDemon Charisma

    April 27, 2013

  • Quote:
    As for things not rezzing until clicked, i don’t know if that’s an LL issue or viewer, but i’ve heard people with other viewers talk about the same thing, so I suspect it may be an LL issue.
    Unquote:
    Can confirm, as i tried Singularity, Niran and Kristin and All suffered the same problem!

    foneco zuzu (@ZZBottomHL)

    April 27, 2013

  • I have had zero problems. Nvidia 560ti w/ up to date drivers… Installed Firestorm, logged in, everything download and rendered at an unbelievable speed. As I move around Second Life I’m still amazed at how fast shopping malls download and render, avatars, clothes, shoes, everything renders lightning fast. Great job Firefall team!! This changes everything for me.

    scatrbrain

    April 27, 2013

  • It´s an okay viewer, but seems to cause a wide variety of trouble, depending on system and hardware configurations, I guess. I don´t have black screen or such, but:

    - Obviously a huge memory leak or a broken dynamics causes discarding of textures after a while, which results in a not further loading world.

    - Inventory window opens wih a three seconds delay while the UI isn´t really as quick and snappy as it was before the update

    - Application does not quit in a proper way on log out, i even have to use the process manager to quit it finally. (sometimes at least).

    All of this does not happen in official V3, Linden Beta nor Catznip or any other v3 based viewer (previous firestorm included).

    Viv

    April 27, 2013

  • Problems i have Had Since i Started This new Update
    *Crash More Often.

    *Profiles take till nexst year to Show up with the info.

    * Bridge keeps detaching

    *Cant open anything that uses the Web or it will crash even if everything is derender
    *i move normal some times but!! everyone else looks like they are runing in place.
    *When i click the X to get out the chat overlays it self with online statuses.
    *Computer i use:Vista-Laptop HP
    Good things
    *My Avatar Seems to move better.
    *Music does not cut out which is great.
    *The Detail is a bit more under control.

    Great Viewer i love it just little bugs and it will be great for use :)

    spiderman..

    April 27, 2013

  • I understand this is a new release and bugs need to be worked out. First the good news, my rainbow disco issue when using shaders is now gone! woot! Also, my avatar seems to move better and details are amazingly sharp.

    Currently I am experiencing – Crashing at a significant rate, Clothing not downloading fully on me or other people (i had to wait 45 minutes for a skirt to appear on my friend), Mesh items getting stuck in mid rez, Areas not showing up unless I click on them, clothing items getting stuck on avatar with no way to detach (relog will fix), very slow load time for spaces (forget busy places) – I have to log out using Cont/Alt/Delete for Task Manager, search and profiles take an unusually long time to load….. and crashing when I take a photo with a black screen and long pause when I click upload to disk.

    Thanks for all you do and cant wait to see how this progresses!
    Duchess

    Duchess Flux

    April 28, 2013

  • I love it, have not crashed once from an SL issue, cant say enough good about it and I am not even aware of all it has to offer yet. Been using the upgrade since it was made avail. Nice work.

    konakoka

    April 28, 2013

  • Worst viewer ever?
    I don’t have any graphic issue, my laptop can perfectly handle SL in terms of CPU and GPU and such.
    My internet connection is perfectly working, and it’s as fast as it never was.
    So, why the fuck it takes 1 hour, and I mean 1 hour, to just load stuff in any random shop around SL?
    I tested a few other viewers and the issue disappeared.
    So yeah, thanks for fuckin up my favorite viewer, guess I’ll have to find a new one now.
    Oh and, a few tips:
    1. Don’t develop, if u can’t fuckin develop.
    2. Don’t use us as beta testers, we are normal users. Don’t lunch a product if it’s not ready for the public.

    Simca

    April 28, 2013

  • Simca,
    Even from reading just what is here it is apparent your problem is not everyone’s problem. The problem I’m addressing is your rude foul behaviour and criticism of developers when YOU provide NOTHING! Where do you get off going on your petulant little boy/girl tirade just because you have AN issue? What have you done to provide anything for the users? I would rate you a 1 on a scale of 10. I am that generous.

    Amazed at the petty level,
    Georgie

    Georgie Tungsten

    April 29, 2013

  • i don’t have any problems with this new version, it is even faster to me with an exception: it takes a long time to load my clothes. I hope that in the future the new version get better and better :) Thank You FS team, still my favourite viewer because i don’t have good graphics or a good processor and it still works to me ;)
    About complaining people, blaming FS team for all the troubles isn’t fair. Please read and follow FS releases and how it was difficult to come out this new version. Sometimes FS is not the problem, remember to check your PC settings…in some cases your system or hardware is the real problem here ;)
    Congrats FS Team!

    Blue

    April 28, 2013

  • mac os x users can NOT, upgrade graphics drivers as the drivers are part of the OS , the chipsets are built into the motherboard , if upgrading becomes the ONLY option to fix these graphics problems,then mac OS X users will no longer be able to use firestorm and firestorm will become a windows only platform. the ONLY upgrade option for mac OS X users is to spend up to 5000 $ CDN on a new mac computer with better drivers, MOST of us mac users CAN NOT AFFORD TO SPEND 5000$ ON A NEW MAC JUST TO USE THE NEW UPGRADES OF FIRESTORM.

    Temba

    April 28, 2013

  • Most laptop users of which I am one can not upgrade their graphics drivers either so this little piece of advice is no help. FS wont even run unless I use the 2 year old drivers from toshiba yet I can run games with the crysis engine at high graphics without a problem. The engine in SL viewers regardless of the version need to have that anal retentative picky diver check taken out.

    Glory

    April 29, 2013

  • Mac Pro 3,1 (early 2008), ATI HD 5870 (released in 2010), 0S X 10.8.3 here. My machine is, as you can easily see, not the cream of the crop but the current Firestorm release runs well on it. And yes, Apple do upgrade the video drivers.

    Btw: You state “the chipsets are built into the motherboard”, which, as to my knowledge, is only true for shared Intel graphics. The MacBook Air and the Mac Mini are the only Macs I can think of which do not offer dedicated graphics solutions as well.

    Raymond Martinek

    April 29, 2013

  • Only issues i see are: Rotate camera horizontally keyboard shortcuts don’t work …ctrl+alt+left/right….

    Ctrl+Shift+F still doesn’t toggle friends box only opens it (this has been broken for the last 3 or 4 releases)

    Ceri

    April 29, 2013

  • Hi !

    No issues here… well almost, the only issue is the image goes pink when I quit the viewer, so it’s not really an issue to me. That’s all.

    Manu

    April 29, 2013

  • No problems what-so-ever on my side, I’m running Win 7 (32bit), 3GB, Intel Q6600, GeForce GTX460, and SSD.
    I got alot more performance and the picture looks better. But I noticed that Firestorm doesn’t play well with SNAGIT, TEAMVIEWER and FIREFOX running in the background, it seem to cause clientside lag at some sims… maybe its a memory problem?
    Other then that I think it’s great… and I’m sorry that alot of you fruitloops are having issues, just give it some time i’m sure it will be fixed!

    Hia

    April 29, 2013

  • “maybe its a memory problem?”

    You kidding? 3 Gigs of RAM are a tad, ah, sparse on a modern PC.

    1) Either add RAM (8 Gigs in all would do wonders) or…

    2) just close the other programs to free up memory for Firestorm. Else memory data would get swapped between RAM and hard disk all the time, which is not funny if the drive isn’t a SSD.

    Raymond Martinek

    April 30, 2013

  • Core i3/9800GTX+/16Gb RAM/Linux x86_64 — no issues so far. Network speed and graphics are better, system load is a bit lower. Hight Offset — i’ve never cared much about that anyway.
    If only they’d updated libBoost sources in the Mercurial repo… Pleeeeease…

    Allex Alcove

    April 29, 2013

  • There is no need to use their boost repository. The current boost that Firestorm uses is retrieved by autobuild during the configure stage before build time. If building standalone it will use the boost that you have in your OS assuming you already have the sufficient packages and versions there.

    Jameson

    April 30, 2013

  • There’s no 64 bit boost to retrieve. In my (actially, Debian’s) OS boost is 1.42 that is a waaay too old. FS (and LL) seems to use their own, patched boosts. Shortly, it’s not so simple as it may look…
    Hey, FS people! Please, please, please update your Boost in the Mercurial repo!! (However, it builds somehow, but you need to make a mess of headers for this…)

    Allex Alcove

    May 2, 2013

  • How can i disable the notification “you died and have been teleported to your home location” ??? if you play LLCS is very annoying keep closing that window so many times as you die. It can become spam of notifications. I liked more how the previous version used to do it (that notification only in the chat).

    Nat

    April 29, 2013

  • hey guys… the LAG is coming from SL SERVERS, i tried both official and firestorm, firestorm loads wayyyyy faster than official, same sim, same time, BUT the freaking stream keeps lagging like in the last version :( i noticed its not with every dj, seems depending on what service they use, BUT again.. sl official viewer manages them all (and again… but it lags with downloading clothers and stuff) … cant there be a balance= :) + its really annoying to have the stream cut out, all i use SL for is CLUBS ANDS MUSIC!

    someone

    April 29, 2013

  • Love this new viewer upgrade. Frame-rate much better, no longer get booted when teleporting to a new (busy) location.
    S/L is a very graphics-intensive game, so unless you have a reasonably new and powerful computer with a high-end graphics card, you will probably have a few issues no matter what viewer you use.

    Mathew Alderton

    April 29, 2013

  • I have not read through every complaint about this new release but have seen many have the same crash problems. I can say for sure they haven’t been fixed yet, since I just uninstalled this version and reinstalled it clean like they said to do, then turned it on and it crashed during load. One thing I have seen to be a constant during all the crashes is that my Firefox also crashes at the same time. Is there a glitch connecting these two programs that makes them both crash? This is just an observation from a non-tech savvy person who just likes to play these games. I hope this can be fixed soon.

    Ron

    April 30, 2013

  • It takes a long time to understand sl and browsers. Now I know what height offsett is I want it lol…

    I feel better reading that yes when you take your clothes on and off its slow, I thought it was me, i was rebaking like crazy. Can really kill the moment. I am used to seeing grey people, this has happened in the past on other browsers and updates.

    I am happy that i didn’t accidently take the wall off my house and its jus a rezzing issue…

    I love firestorm and this browser is excellent. SL is crazy, just enjoy it because a lot of people slave over code to bring you this.

    Rahne Aeon

    April 30, 2013

  • ive had nothing but crshing issues with ur viewer ever since i updated it i downloaded the viewer part i had before and now its getting worse and worse im about to leave sl due to this i have to work and im just suck of it. fix it now or just get rid of fs completly

    lilprntar19 gabardini

    April 30, 2013

  • Great job on the new viewer, just one issue so far, never had this problem before upgrading. When I am offline the notices and IM’s are not being sent to my email. And yes all the boxes are ticked as they should be to receive these, when offline. Any one else had this problem?
    Otherwise all seems to be working well.

    Freya

    April 30, 2013

  • Hey curious is copy and paste turned off on this viewer cuz finally the probrlems were fixed for me yay ty firestorm! but now I cant copy n paste anything not even a video link hmm any ideas anyone?

    Darla Adored

    May 1, 2013

  • *grumble grumble… * “Oh, great. Another new version.” *grumble grumble*

    “Looks like I get to gripe about… What? Read the Wiki?

    “What? Save settings?!?!

    “Does this mean… Could it be?!?! Will this be the last time I have to clean install and spend hours trying to find the screen shots of all the settings that I have no idea what they’re doing, or where they are?!?!?!

    “Really?!?!?!?!?!!!!

    “Oh, HAPPY DAY!!!!!!”

    *slips into my dancing shoes and does my favorite Snoopy Happy Dance!!!!!

    Seriously, thank you, Firestorm Team, for all the work you share with us. This one, long-awaited improvement (imo) to your viewer made at least one person a happier FS user.

    Bring on the next version! I’m ready, now! *grin*

    Dixie

    May 1, 2013

  • Does anyone have problem with unpacked *.dsf files? Seems for this release of viewer it doesn’t make any difference if option “Don’t delete unpacked DSF cache files when logging out” is checked or not. Files are for whole time in cache folder. I have to delete them manually as I have separate partition for cache and it becomes full quickly with these files.

    Alice Polandia

    May 1, 2013

  • soon as i installed it…it slowed down even more to the point where i couldnt go into rooms then it crashed. I ended up deleting it and installing Firestorm 4.2.2 (29837) Aug 27 2012 19:20:05 (Firestorm-Release) (HotFix) which to my surprise was 1000000x better than the other newer versions and im running an older laptop…pretty much says alot if an older system is running this version smoother. And I don’t lag anymore when alot of people are in the room! I don’t have to relog at all! lool.

    CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7200 @ 2.00GHz (1994.33 MHz)
    Memory: 3071 MB
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 3 (Build 2600)
    Graphics Card Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Graphics Card: ATI MOBILITY FireGL V5250

    cy

    May 1, 2013

  • The new Firestorm has been nothing but slow and glitchy. I often have to log out 3 and 4 times to change an outfit just once. I am constantly lagged out, not only when teleporting to a new area but standing in an area for any length of time.

    I have a gaming machine and I’m in 24 man raids all the time in MMORPGS. I never had these issues with the old Firestorm.

    I’m sorry but until these issues get fixed, the new FS is completely unacceptable. I love FS, it’s my favorite viewer but I’m going back to 4.3.

    I wish you guys the best of luck fixing these issues… I would really hate to have to resort to V3. (which I have no problems running – tested yesterday and today)

    Joshie

    May 1, 2013

  • OK, so far smooth sailing in performance, slightly faster frame rate, rendering seems to be quicker and the new additions are fine. A couple glitches with door positions and animated textures I received with the previous update weren’t resolved with these but are minor and easily lived with. All in all I am happy with this issue :)

    Cymon Cyrado

    May 2, 2013

  • When is SSB finally puplished?
    Never saw any massage or blog from LindenLab.
    There is just this new process for viewer releases:
    http://community.secondlife.com/t5/Tools-and-Technology/bg-p/blog_technology
    I guess a lot of people are confused.^^
    Is it out now? Or not?
    Or will it still come soon?

    Tommi Waydelich

    May 2, 2013

  • SSB is in the code on the servers in SL right now, but it is not turned on. It is something LL can turn on without a rolling restart. As long as you’re using an updated viewer like FS 4.4.0 you won’t need to do anything when they turn it on, it will just happen and work for you. If you’re using an older version of any viewer when LL throws the switch and turns SSB on, you’ll see grey people who stay grey.

    Cincia Singh

    May 2, 2013

  • It seems it is (partially, at least), and it seems it’s the very reason of all these cries about lags, pinks, etc. The bad seem LL’s servers, not FS… http://community.secondlife.com/t5/Tools-and-Technology/Project-Shining-to-Improve-Avatar-and-Object-Streaming-Speeds/ba-p/1583465

    Allex Alcove

    May 3, 2013

  • I want to know too !!

    gita meili

    May 5, 2013

  • Did you get to know the answers?

    June Oh

    May 8, 2013

  • I truly believe they gave up the wrong viewer (Phoenix) because Firestorm cannot handle a high Lag area without crashing, and on top of that it is so bad it have made my PC crash as well!!! So this ssb viewer is no better because i still crash in high lag areas and i can’t copy and paste and just before i crash i lose attatchments that i have on and where they go is anyones guess!! with Phoenix i never had any issues with it even in high lag areas!! i did complain to Ms Lyon in a notecard a week ago but i guess she is to busy to answer from a normal resident such as i and many of you out there, and why do i get a no responce on the firestorm viewer???…..who knows??

    Bethann Andel

    May 3, 2013

  • Hi Bethann,
    I would reckon you are correct regarding Ms Lyon’s busy schedule. I am actually surprised at how much time she finds to actually deal with all sorts of user questions. I would highly recommend to any of you that you join the Firestorm support group. A great portion of the problems related by users HERE are not really going to get the handling or attention they need.
    This is JUST a forum. Working on the nuts and bolts is much more a matter for the support group and the JIRA. I think a lot of you will be pleasantly surprised at the level of support and assistance you will find in the support group. Not only are there actual DEVs and others actively working on FS present there, but also a good number of users who are well informed and often who have experienced the same issue as you.
    Finally please realize that FS and all viewers will always be in something of a beta state as Second Life continues to change and grow and that you may experience problems that simply will not clear until a different version is released.
    Expecting the viewer to work right for everyone, in light of all the hardware and software variation out there is like expecting and off the rack suit to fit like a tailored suit. It may fit some people perfectly, most people adequately and some not at all.
    Some brands of clothing tend to fit you better than others, viewers similarly are not one size fits all and Firestorm may not be ideal for your particular set up or needs.

    Good luck to all,
    Georgie

    Georgie Tungsten

    May 11, 2013

  • Is anyone else having problems with particle chains not showing properly or only coming on after a while and being less than impressive looking. And also failing to reappear after the camera is taken off them for a time.

    Very slow change of outfit in the newer, and objects like floors and walls not appearing until you right click them seems to be a problem in LL and Firestorm viewers so may be an issue in the servers?

    Other than those niggles, I love the new Firestorm 4.4.0. Thanks folks.

    Particular

    May 3, 2013

  • Tommi, I do not think users of the Linden Viewers have a clue that SSB is coming and all the problems that they too are going to have in using SSB and viewers, I think the problems with this FS are just the tip of the iceberg.

    June Oh

    May 3, 2013

  • I am a non corporal life form, My avatar is an orange cloud blissfully floating around SL

    ssb is not going to work, I tried everything I know including new video drivers, this viewer should be recalled , Now to uninstall this crap

    Lucas Fairweather

    May 4, 2013

  • 1. The height offset is now a slider on the Appearance/Edit Shape/Body menu. It’s called “Hover”. I think that was a smart move.
    2. Going back to the older viewer will be a shot in your foot when LL rolls out server side baking soon. You will no longer see any textures. This update is mandatory – if you want to keep using SL. So, calm down and look for a solution to your problem. And accept the fact that not all of your problems are being caused by the viewer. For instance, I never crash – while everyone around me crashes all day long. Why is that? Different computer config, different interenet server providers and stability, different graphics cards (how old is it? Is your computer overheating?, etc). Computing involves a LOT of things going on. On my machine, this update is working fairly well, except:

    I logged in today and my viewer is forcing me to use the Phoenix skin. I don’t like the old Phoenix skin. No matter what, it won’t let me change back to the Firestorm skin. What happened overnight as I slept? Anyone else having this issue?

    JudiLynn

    May 4, 2013

  • Ever since Dl’ing the newest release, I’ve had nothing but problems. My number one problem is the darn crashing. I crash when on busy sims, I crash when tp’ing, I crash just for nothing. *sighs* The crashing is really getting to me. :( I too have the things not loading until you right click and slow loading of clothing. I get the message afer I crash “still logging you out..” stuff. Please someone help.

    ChrystalinRose Resident

    May 4, 2013

  • Kudos to the entire staff. I love the new viewer and have total joy using it! I had multiple problems before this viewer was released and they have all gone away….YAY! I do read the blogs and all notices put out by not only Firestorm, but LL’s as well. It helps a great deal people! Being informed is how you stay up on what is coming and what to expect. Many thanks to Firestorm for helping me to have a beautiful sl experience. Keep up the amazing work!

    Adri Sabetha

    May 4, 2013

  • I had some of these problems ( ie grey avatars ) but when I asked the Mods in inworld firestorm group chat and did everything they told me to.. it now works brilliant and is a lot better than any previous viewer

    gita meili

    May 5, 2013

  • Installed the update about a week ago, and it seems to work great. The only issue I’ve seen is one that some others have mentioned – that for some reason a random body part won’t rez when I change clothes, even though it shows as being worn. If I remove it and re-add it, that fixes it until the next time I try to wear that outfit. But otherwise, it’s been very stable, seems to be faster, and everything looks great. People seem to forget they didn’t pay anything for the viewer; personally, I’ve paid a lot for commercial software that had a whole lot more issues than this. Hats off to the folks behind Firestorm. Thanks for all your hard work!

    Bearcat

    May 6, 2013

  • yep, happens to me all the time

    jonnywhadd

    May 10, 2013

  • Starting with the previous version and persisting in this version, I am no longer able to access my Outfits folder from the Appearance button on Firestorm. I am sticking with the release from 3 versions ago.

    Mo

    May 7, 2013

  • I have a problem with my viewer blinking every time I use my mouse it blinks between second life viewer and desktop very annoying don’t know why? Anyone with a solution sure would be appreciated when I run around with arrow keys on key board blinking goes away after a little bit till I touch mouse again ugh……..

    Eric Lee Rumbolator

    May 7, 2013

  • Ok so I have more problems with the new update then I did on any other EVER!!! I got the settings right but it loads slower then a turtle and it has more lag issues then any viewer I have used and I used all of them trust me.

    Taima Fang

    May 7, 2013

  • I Downloaded the update and now it will not let me log in at all, it comes up and then crashes and I am totally upset about it!. PLease help!

    Pauletta

    May 7, 2013

  • I have a few issues with new update. My walls in buildings don’t rez (floors too) unless I click on everything. It doesn’t matter how long I’m there. The inventory fetch is slower, and log out hangs for a long time. Hope those issues can be resolved for me. Otherwise, thanks for the endless hours of trying to give us alternative viewers. ;-)

    Faye

    May 8, 2013

  • Upgraded to the new version myself, found no real difference between it and previous one, other than offline messages etc showing on left side rather than the right.
    Rendering has been a bit slow at the start but got quicker, guess that’s cache now filling.
    Had no issues with it so far or previous version, no more crashes than normal in sl I have gone a good 3 hours maybe more without a crash. so in my opinion good work Phoenix Firestorm Team.
    Linden Labs would like everyone on their viewer, so why approve 3rd party viewers in first place, in my opinion some of the 3rd party viewers are better then theirs and I think they just don’t like to be shown up.

    puss

    May 8, 2013

  • Please dont issue anymore updates if they are to be even more problematic than the current. I mean I have never crashed while just standing and not moving!!!!! This is THE WORST version ever. TY so much for making my life in SL much much harder and so much more stressful. I will never, ever use/recommend/nor consider this viewer ever again. Take a look at all the negative comments and tell me that people are happy…WE ARE NOT HAPPY!!!!!

    jonnywhadd

    May 10, 2013

  • the viewer is good..except for CONSTANT CRASHING!
    never ever crashed..well hardly ever in the last version.
    hope you guys can fix what ever seems to be broken right now
    Still a fan tho :)
    Jaz

    Jasmin Lacoute

    May 11, 2013

  • back again..thats 6 times i have crashed in one hour aghhhh!!!
    please please fix this problem?

    Jasmin Lacoute

    May 11, 2013

  • The point of a viewer is to be useable – if the user has to use debug settings to correct silly settings or be able to see properly that is a usability issue not a user issue.

    Truth. Should we really have to correct all this in debug settings so it works? It should work without a lot of fiddling for the majority. That is what testing is for.

    Anon

    May 11, 2013

  • None of my mesh is loading and the program crashes constantly. Why would you release a version that is so full of bugs?

    Sue

    May 12, 2013

  • I’d like to make a small observation.
    As I look at all of these reports of “worst viewer ever” etc. I am recalling several that have for me been a good deal buggier than this release. If you look at the third party viewer statistics the only graphics based viewer crashing less than FS is the Linden Labs BETA viewer. I think it is safe to assume that the people who load up the beta releases are far more likely to be running faster CPUs, Graphics adapters, memory, and generally are on more up to date gear.
    Firestorm is the least crashing viewer of all the viewers in final release form , the only viewer outperforming it is the LL BETA, which as I noted has a relatively tiny user base that tends to be running higher end gear and these users often have a good deal more general computer knowledge than those who aren’t prone to loading up BETAs.

    This says a lot more than the specific complaints of myself or others. For all the complaints, FS seems to be able to maintain it’s top dog position among the Viewers, including the viewer that is made by the people who are running the servers and writing the programming the whole system is running on.

    Bravo!

    Congrats to the team,

    Georgie

    Georgie Tungsten

    May 13, 2013

  • Ever since the last Firestorm Update, my phoenix version doesnt access voice any more. Installed the latest Firestorm Version, i get constant crashes and doesnt want to evenlog in or start. Considreing going to INWORLDZ as an alternative. LL and SL have constantly screwed things up to the point nothing is usable in SL anymore GRRR

    Koran Sparta

    May 13, 2013

  • Since I updated to this version fast twice clicking the move right, move left, turn left and turn right warps my avatar some 10 meters aside…. The first time this is funny but after a few times its annoying.

    Cornel Johin

    May 14, 2013

  • I was crashing all the time on the last two versions.. This new version has been very stable. The only issue I’ve had has been two items that have a mesh componet in them that doesn’t show for me. just the one componet doens’t show. The rest of the item does. It looks fine on other viewers and to other people using the new FS. I can live with it for the stability improvement.

    Amanda Dallin

    May 15, 2013

  • SL is supposed to be fun but when a viewer get’s so complicated you need a group to troubleshoot it and classes to learn how to use it, the fun goes away. SIMPLIFY. BTW, what happened to the “set not busy” button, the “export linkset” function and the phantom mode?

    aruba19

    June 7, 2013

  • Height offset…where’s my height offset? OMG I can’t find it! Please… please give it back? D: Crashing isn’t an issue for me. I play on ultra settings 99% of the time. There should be a page with “recommended specs”…so silly hyoomans will see their comps aren’t gaming comps anymore. :D Get with the technology!

    Min Ireto

    June 21, 2013

  • my media doesnt work too well now. i click the video icon but nothing happens. but if i relog and come back in, it works for a few seconds then turns itself off automatically and wont come back on again. any ideas on how to fix this??

    friied

    July 7, 2013

  • Good day everyone, My issue since downloading the new FS 4.4.2 update is that my avatar and everything around me will not fully rez, when i first log everything is clear and crisp but then after a few seconds of log in my avi and everything around me will all go fuzzy then pop in again it never stays rezed fully, does anyone have this issue and if so is there a way to fix this . thank you =)

    Debbie

    July 8, 2013

  • If you contact support they can help you with that issue.

    Jessica Lyon

    July 8, 2013

  • Hello Jessica,
    thank you very much for your comment i already tried they can’t help me and i did everything i could think of i even updated my Drivers and still i can’t use that 442 Viewer, other then having the textures get fuzzy and try to rez in thats my only issue with that viewer but if it continues i wlil have to look ele where for one that i can use, i have used FS for a long time but this update is not good for me =(

    Debbie

    July 10, 2013

  • Have you tried setting the debug setting UseHTTPBakedTextureFetch to false? This most often fixes the problem you are having. Also, use this page as a resource to your problem. http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/http_fetching_issues

    Jessica Lyon

    July 10, 2013

  • Yes these are the Links i got from the FS inworld group chat the other day and i did it all with no luck, so thats why i thought it might be my drivers, hence me updating them last night but i still have the texture fail, so i don’t know what the issue could be, i also loged an Alt on to see if the issue inworld was the same and it was, i went back a few viewers to see if this texture fail was there to and it was not there i rezzed rigth in and the textures were sharp and stayed rezzed so i am a bit confused as to why i can use the older viewer with no issues but not this 442?

    Debbie

    July 10, 2013

  • Update…
    Hi Jessica ,
    well i did a little poking around on my Sim after installing the 442 on Sunday, i really never left my Home Sim until the other day, when i arrived to the shop i tped too and rezzed everything was sharp and clear, i sat there for a moment to see if the textures would go Fuzzy and they never did so i went back to my Home sim and it was all Blur so i started taking things away that i thought might be script heavy turns out it was a Home i was using as soon as i took that house away the whole Sim poped right in clear as a bell and has not gone fuzzy since so yes i am able to use this 442 Viewer and i Love it!! i want to thank you for trying to help me with my issue and i am so happy it’s resolved =)

    Debbie

    July 11, 2013

  • Hi if anyone can help me with this problem it will be a miracle. Anyway here goes. I have a brand new Imac desktop 27in screen with a nvidia gc,. When I first purchased the mac it was great with Firestorm, however now its snail pace slow, and I cannot move, or type very fast. I have spoken to FS support team on SL and tried various methods, ie lowering my graphics card, deleting FS and reinstalling, and clearing cache, but nothing helps. I just don’t understand it. I have other games on my MAC and they run prefectly, I also graphic design and use major software. My mac is super fast with other applications just not Firestorm. Can anyone please help and shed some light on this issue. I used to love logging into SL however now its a nightmare.

    Scarlett

    July 13, 2013

  • Hi Scarlett, You say your mac is fast with other applications, just not firestorm? .. does this mean its fast with the SL viewer too? Or is SL slow no matter what viewer you use?
    The problem with SL these days is not the viewers, it is actually the upgrades LL is doing. The upgrades are great, providing much better graphics, however, at a cost. This improvement in graphics is causing users to leave SL because it is causing their PCs to lag. Not because there is any problems with SL or the viewers, but because their graphics cards need to be upgraded to keep up with the changes. Most users do not know this is the reason, and others just cannot afford the upgrades. The best thing to do until you can upgrade your GC is set your graphics settings to low. I have seen a PC go from being very laggy after the last update, to having no lag at all, even in ultra, due to a PC hardware upgrade. Spread the word! Hopefully more will upgrade rather than leave :)

    Darius

    July 18, 2013

  • Hi Darius all SL applications are slow. Even on low graphics its painfully slow. My Mac is only 4 months old so I can’t see the problem being my graphics card. When I first logged into SL it was great super fast and now snail pace. It doesn’t matter who I talk to no one has the answer. I have tried just about everything suggested and more. I don’t really want to leave SL but I am only logging in for a minute now. The strange thing is when I first log in its super fast for 1 minute the lag and nothing is loading properly. There has got to be some solution to this but finding it is not going to be easy. I can’t be the only Mac user ever to experienced this problem.

    Scarlett

    July 19, 2013

  • Hello again, yeah .. even though your mac has a mobile GPU in it, its still one of the better ones and should be able to run SL on low to mid settings. That is kind of mind boggling.

    It is a bit concerning, when you first log in, its fast for a minute then slows down? Is it possible your imac is getting too hot? are you running anything else with SL? Maybe you should try it on another Imac the same as yours in store and compare. It is always possible your Imac has cooling issues.

    Darius

    July 24, 2013

  • I came back from vacation, didnt change a single thing, but now when i rightclick, i get black letters on a dark grey background. Kinda hard to read. How do i get the letters white again as they were?
    Using the latest FS release.

    Ayara Illios

    August 7, 2013

  • ok i sadly have some downers as well

    . i can’t adjust my avatars body there are no sliders in the menu at all this made one of my friends sad as i was to short to his liking
    (he wanted me taller for something)

    . some of my outfits take a long time to rezz while others do not take a long time to rezz mainly the outfits i made take a long time to rezz but outfits i have bought on the Market Rezz quickly

    .there was a lot of lag as well this may also be my side of the problem due to my Cache having 8GB of history saved now that its been empty frame rate is back up to what it was before (30 or so Frames per seconds ) before the clearing of the cache it was something like 5-10 frames per seconds

    thats all the issues i am having right now other than that good job FS its a good update just needs some tweaking i guess there will be another update soon when LL has complete there little SSA project then hopefully we can all be happy

    until then i just have to stick with it

    currently using FireStorm V4.4.234167
    operating system: windows 7

    zfwilliam ( Keira )

    August 22, 2013

  • Other than the height offset being gone I think it has been Great!
    Here is the fix for that
    http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/fs_height_offset

    Danii1347

    August 25, 2013

  • I have problems with trying to put on my shadows with this new update. It worked for me before on a viewer I left on my computer, which I think was firestorm 3. something. I did a clean up with the viewers that I had and then did a clean instal with this new upgraded version. I’m unable to put shadows on without me crashing and unable to put my settings past high. I would like to know how to fix this since I am a photographer inworld. If anyone could help I would be greatly appreciated.

    Naomi

    September 19, 2013

  • We’ll need you to file a support ticket with your information in order to track down and fix your issue Naomi. Please file a jira with us, the follow page explains how. http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/doku.php?id=file_a_jira

    Jessica Lyon

    September 19, 2013

  • i can not see liquid mesh properly its not sitting on the avis that’s wearing it right. how do I see it correctly

    myikah

    October 14, 2013

  • The only problem i can see and it isnt serious is an slight pause when opening preferences and groups and im betting its an old computer 6 years old now so i took it down to XP from vista and gained an lot more memory (unable to update) patience and time is needed and many lack that
    im waiting patiently for slshare to come to firestorm xx

    thetattywitch juneberry

    October 15, 2013

  • Hello! I got a question. from 2 days I keep having problems with music. the music keep dissconecting after 1 minutes of playing. idk what to do more. I clean catche, I reinstall, I reinstall even windows. My connection is very good and I dont know what to do more. please help !!! thanks !

    With respect, Andrew

    andreiandu

    October 21, 2013

  • hello everyone i have a problem with firestorm when i download it it always says login faield wating for server response i tried clearing cashe as well as reinstalling it and it still doesnt work

    Bettycopper56

    November 9, 2013

  • hi,
    I got ubuntu, had hard time running firestorm due to card driver issue. now i can, but any one can tell me how to fix Alt key button. when i try to zoom or pan my camera it dose not work, it moves the entire window .
    Thanks.

    Shams

    November 19, 2013

  • I have no complaints about 4.4.0 It works perfectly in Windows 7 Pro and 8.0 & 8.1 Pro. I use 4.5.1 beta 32 and 64-bit – never had a single problem.
    However, when will a Fitted Mesh capable viewer be ready? I noted in the Jira that there are plenty of experimental viewers in the pipeline, 4.5.2, 4.6, 5.x etc. How do I download them?
    I love FS, but what should I tell my friends when they ask why I don’t just switch to Cool? It supports Fitted Mesh, _and_(as my friends constantly remind me) has a workaround for the truly awful Height Offset “issue”. Putting a slider in Edit/Appearance/Hover is ridiculous.
    Thank you.

    Sonja Dominica

    February 27, 2014

  • I’m having problems with my alpha bare feet and alpha feet that come with shoes that I buy. When I put them on they seem a bit dark at first not matching my skin like they were set at. Then about 3 to 5 minutes after putting them on my feet turn extremely pale. Sometimes it’s just one foot. Other times it starts with one foot, then that foot turns back to “normal” and the other foot turns pale. And yes sometimes it’s both feet lol. Getting very tired of wearing boots.

    Ohsoleomio

    April 20, 2014

  • Hi all ,,,
    normally on firestorm viewer i have a fps around 140 on grapice on low since a few days its on 45 fps all the time ,,, i didt change anything my connection is perfeckt ,,, but the strange part is ,, when i set my grapic on high i have a fps from 53 lol ,,,,, explain me this ,,,
    my pc is still the same ,, i did no update or other things ,,, this strange part come out of nowhere ,,,,, please explain me this ,,,

    Nighthhall

    June 10, 2014

  • Had you been tweaking with any viewer settings?
    *Something* must have changed to cause this but tracking it down is the hard part. All I can suggest is if you are sure nothing changed at your end (connection, router, firewall/antivirus software, installed new 3rd party software, rezzed something new and “laggy” on your region, wearing something new and “laggy”) then clean install Firestorm and see how the viewer preforms with totally out of the box settings: http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/fs_clean_reinstall

    Whirly Fizzle

    June 10, 2014

  • I’m not sure what the issue is, however at this point I’m at my wits end. No matter what viewer I use the problem is still the same. My eyes randomly pop out of my avatar’s skull and I cannot seem to fix the issue no matter what I try. Relogging temporarily corrects it, however then when I go to change outfits or even just do something else it comes back again. I did not have this issue before the update, however it’s driving me out my mind now. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    Galonodel

    October 12, 2014

  • This is probably caused by some rigged mesh you are wearing that has wonky eye bone rigging.
    The next time this happens, take a note of what mesh attachments you are wearing, change into the default noob character test avatar and relog. Then attach each piece of rigged mesh one at a time and watch your eyes. You should be able to find the culpret mesh.
    If you can find it, give a marketplace link for the item and I’ll have a look.
    Btw, youre commenting on a really old post here.

    Whirly Fizzle

    October 16, 2014

Leave a comment (NOTE: We cannot provide support or help in these blog comments. If you need or want help please contact our support team through the correct channels. See our support page for more information.)  

name*

email*

website

Submit comment