Your browser (Internet Explorer 6) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.
X

Share your love of Second Life with a testimonial

Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 19.45.17

translation services

We’re very excited with our first six landing pages that have now received thousands of new visits. Best of all, new sign-ups are beginning to roll in! Thank you to all who have shared these pages with your RL contacts and please continue to do so.

Now that we’ve launched the pages, we’re ready to start improving them by adding testimonials from Second Life users to replace the current stock reviews we have there now.

Here is another opportunity to share your Second Life love by submitting an RL photo to our Flickr Gateway Group

Submit your photos here. I’ll be moderating the submission flow of photos and will choose the ones that best represent our Phase 1 landing page topics which are:

Images:

  • Face shots (full body images won’t work, they need to be similar to what we’ve used on the landing pages already)
  • Square aspect is ideal (but, we will crop if necessary)
  • a minimum of 350 x 350 jpg

Phrases:

  • 50-60 words about why you enjoy using Second Life to do the activity related to aΒ page above
  • Your RL First name
  • Your RL location (your country will suffice)

Privacy concerns?

We don’t need you to associate your Second Life identity with your RL first name. We won’t publish your SL identity even if you submit your photo through your Second Life Flickr account. We also welcome you to share your RL photo through your RL Flickr account, if you keep it separate.

If you’re not a Flickr user, you can send me the photo and your testimonial (as per the guidelines above) directly onΒ emailΒ – canary.beck@phoenixviewer.com

Best wishes and thanks!

Canary Beck, Marketing Manager

  • My real life is so busy, I work constantly and When not working busy at home with family. Second life allows me to travel to places I am not able to in real life due to time limits. Over the many years I have been with SL I have made so many friends and learned so much.

    Cody, From Coastal Delaware

    January 2, 2016

  • Thanks very much, Cody. Please send an RL pic to canary.beck@phoenixviewer.com and I can use this πŸ™‚ – See above for picture specs that might help.

    Canary Beck

    January 3, 2016

  • To bad we cannot share our hate for SL

    Lisbeth

    January 3, 2016

  • I think you can show that by stopping your use of it.

    Canary Beck

    January 3, 2016

  • Ah, Second Life – a world in which wearable, ejaculating animal genitalia is easily available the official marketplace. A world where some of the most popular items include attachables with a urination feature. A world full of grown adults who creepily choose to roleplay as child avatars. A world where you can stutter along as hundreds of gharish textures and objects slowly (and often only partially) load. A world with entire ‘nudist’ estates which are absolutely nothing to do with perviness – honest guv! And most importantly, Second Life enables such like-minded social outcasts to come together and make such dreams possible! There are so many possibilities!

    Clockwork Cynic

    January 4, 2016

  • I joined Second Life in 2011 for the role play and the opportunity to meet new people. I never dreamed that a year into it I’d end up falling in love with a fellow SL RPer who’d move the 1600+ miles that separated us so we could be together in real life. Now we’re engaged to be married in August 2016! Thank you, SL! You’ve changed my real life tremendously and all for the better!

    Pamela

    January 3, 2016

  • Thanks very much, Pamela. Please send an RL pic to canary.beck@phoenixviewer.com and I can use this πŸ™‚ – See above for picture specs that might help.

    Canary Beck

    January 3, 2016

  • For me Second Life is all about making friends, exploring new technology and learning . I have used the building and software skills I learned in SL in my real life work. Being able to use different types of software to create and provide entertainment has given me an amazing learning platform. It has also expanded my knowledge and understanding of other cultures. I have made friends all over the world. I would have not been able to do that without Second Life

    Luke

    January 3, 2016

  • Thanks very much, Luke. Please send an RL pic to canary.beck@phoenixviewer.com and I can use this πŸ™‚ – See above for picture specs that might help.

    Canary Beck

    January 3, 2016

  • I love 2nd life. I spend a few hours here daily. I can escape reality and be or something I can’t in real life. Some of the SIMs are amazing, and have taken a lot o thought and imagination. I’ve made friends from around the world. Its too bad my first Avi…account was deleted by SL.. I lost 2000L

    Mario

    January 3, 2016

  • […] from real residents in the future. Β In fact, since I wrote that last sentence yesterday, a new project has been started up by Becky on the Firestorm blog to do exactly this. […]

  • I have been in SL for 6 years, its a nice place to be if you find a good social sim with good people and good ambient. Its a pity most of the players here live their Second Life as their Real Life, being close minded, not accepting other species and ruining other players experience. But the best you can do is find good people, make real good friends and forget the rest, they are just trolls that wants to ruin your SL experience, they might probably have a very bad real life, that they feel the need to come ruin second life.

    Marian WolFox

    January 3, 2016

  • The animal sex is really lifelike!

    Doug W

    January 3, 2016

  • Doug W, meet Clockwork Cynic… Clockwork Cynic, meet Doug W.

    Miyushu Babii

    January 9, 2016

  • Funny – the Firestorm front page (this post at the moment) has a ‘testimonial’ from Becky – from the UK. I followed the ‘Decorating/Design’ link and found the same testimonial – this time attributed to Sarah from the USA. If you’re going to make up testimonials, at least be consistent.

    Lyra Strom

    January 3, 2016

  • My testimonial above is a sample so that people can see what it will look like, that’s all.

    Canary Beck

    January 4, 2016

  • […] the team is on to their next project which is featuring testimonials from Second Life residents. They are requesting those interested to submit their real life images to the Firestorm Gateway […]

  • I joined in SL in 2009, with 20 years of CAD experience, just as RL IT job fairs were becoming passe’ in SL. I stayed for the creative possibilities.
    I am humbled on a daily basis, there is an absolutely incredible talent pool in SL.
    If you have an interest, use the search engine, like as not, someone has built something to that particular interest.
    My first love is building stuff in SL, but my second love is the music varieties, and the story tellers. This is also a fabulous way to exchange information, and collaborate ideas.
    There are so many possibilities!

    Kate

    January 4, 2016

  • Thanks very much, Kate. Please send an RL pic to canary.beck@phoenixviewer.com and I can use this πŸ™‚ – See above for picture specs that might help.

    Canary Beck

    January 4, 2016

  • I have been in Second life for almost 8 years now and I tell you I have met and lost some great people, I have social anxiety in RL and it makes it hard to meet new people but with SL I can do just that, I am not worried about what they are going to say or think about me, I am just me

    LadyCherokee Wetherby

    January 4, 2016

  • Thanks very much, Lady. Please send an RL pic (and RL first name) to canary.beck@phoenixviewer.com and I can use this πŸ™‚ – See above for picture specs that might help.

    Canary Beck

    January 4, 2016

  • I promote SL to friends occasionally, present it not as a game, but as a place to meet people from all over the world. That’s the way I found the Love of my Life, that needs no structured promotions, cause real unconditional love finds it way as long as you trust yourself and don’t translate human relationships into money… It’s simple: love knows no boundaries if it is meant to be πŸ™‚ Have a great day and find the way that suits You!!!!! Paul

    Paul

    January 4, 2016

  • Thanks very much, Paul. Please send an RL pic (and RL first name) to canary.beck@phoenixviewer.com and I can use this πŸ™‚ – See above for picture specs that might help.

    Canary Beck

    January 4, 2016

  • Thanks Canary, my reaction says already so, it is not to be used or to be valued in dollars, even if they are Lindens, love has no exchange rate. have a great day, Paul

    Paul

    January 4, 2016

  • My girlfriend at the time now my RL wife used Second life as a communications output since we lived 2400 miles away from each other, thru SL we got to interact with each other.It just seem to make the miles disappear. Till I
    got ready to move to where she lives.

    Desperado

    January 4, 2016

  • I started playing close to 8 years ago, have been playing on and off since then, its only been in the last 4 or so years that i have finally surrendered to the draw and charm of Second Life. I come in to SL to relax and get away from the drama that is Real Life. Over the years I have met some very wonderful people and have kept in contact with them in SL and out. I can’t imagine anyone not being able to enjoy themselves in Second Life, in all the years that I have been involved with it, I have never, nor do i think i will ever see everything there is to see or do.

    SKPiper

    January 4, 2016

  • Thanks very much, SKPiper. Please send an RL pic (and RL first name) to canary.beck@phoenixviewer.com and I can use this πŸ™‚ – See above for picture specs that might help.

    Canary Beck

    January 5, 2016

  • I am in SL since May 2008 with Chiki Zimer. Now Vivi. Love it … Love it… Love it !. I think SL is the Linden’s greatest creation for all kinds of people. It has completed my life and made me happier sin I came in. Congrats to all supporting this program and tyvm β™₯

    Vivianna2012

    January 5, 2016

  • i can describe secondlife in 1 word. SUCKS!

    VenumusVortex

    January 5, 2016

  • SL is many things to many people. For some, it is a place to socialize, for others, to further develop relationships, and still others, just to have sex. Many others come here to build, to learn new ideas and ways to communicate, thru the use other games (i.e.,Tiny Empires, Bloodlines). There is modeling, medical, scripting, building sites. We learn other cultures from visiting different sims, from Egypt, to the Amazon, almost every country in the world is represented here. Where else can you be ballroom dancing one minute and 10 minutes later, horseback riding or scuba diving? SL is a stress free environment, we are always beautiful people, we never have to worry about bills on here, we can be whatever we want to be in a matter of tp’ing from one sim to the other. But above all else, SL makes all this possible. SL is everyone’s fantasy come true, in one way or another, you just have to decide which fantasy you wish to explore.

    Siobahn Mistwalker

    January 5, 2016

  • Promoting SL by ourselves ?!
    They do not one thing to help us ! Rules are more restrictive than even and landbarons are recently the worst from the highlights of SL !
    i am impatient to read your basic anwer : then quit ! so public relation friendly. i will answer you !

    wanda friller

    January 5, 2016

  • I’m in the USA and while others have only bad things to say. I’m a DJ. In RL I’m disabled and can barely walk. In SL I’m a DJ and get to play music I really like and others come to hear it to. I’ve gained friends from places in the world I’ll never see and all from my computer chair. They are more of a friend and I’ closer to most of them then people I see everyday. THAT’S what SL is supposed to be. If you let it. Also, the motorcycles are really cool. πŸ˜€

    Dan

    January 5, 2016

  • What is the big push to put RL faces on SL users? We’re not Facebook, thank God, there’s no reason to splash anyone’s private face or private information on a website to just encourage the rest of the sheeple to do the same.

    Second Life has a terms of Service which includes a right to privacy. I’d like to know what the big marketing push is now to violate our TOS rights and encourage others to do so.

    Josephina

    January 6, 2016

  • Second Life is like Facebook on steroids.

    Miyushu Babii

    January 9, 2016

  • I found Second Life when I was in a very bad place, emotionally, as well as physically. I had a career ending injury in gymnastics and was depressed and feeling lost. Then while laid up, I was searching for something to do and found SL. It allowed me to run, and jump and do all the things my body was not able to do at that point. I worked my way through the depression, the sense of “what do I do with my life now?” Once I was back on my feet, I discovered I had trouble interacting with my friends, they had gym events and interactions to talk about that I was no longer a part of, and I felt isolated. My friends on SL filled in the gap until I was emotionally strong enough to face the world again. Despite the negative comments some may have, the worlds inside SL are what you make of them. They can be beneficial, or detrimental, but that is up to you. You get out of it, what you put in to it. SL saved my life. It really was, and continues to be, the most beloved thing in my world, because without it, I would have continued to spiral into depression and a sense of having no purpose in life. It may seem overly dramatic, but when I spent my entire life training and living just one thing, and it was torn away from me, SL filled that role, and I thank everyone in world that have been my friends. Thank you Linden Labs, PLEASE continue to fund SL and keep the grid alive. You have no idea the way you touch lives, and the wonderful influence your product has on those of us who are part of this wonderful community.

    Ellie

    January 19, 2016

  • Linden Lab isn’t funding Second Life. Second Life is a commercial venue meant to genereate profit for Linden Lab.
    I’m a long time in Second Live and spent probably several thousands US dollars on parcel rents, buying items and other things.

    It’s all the people like me who fund Second Life. People who are willing to invest work and first of all their money. I meet often people who are proud that they never spent an own Cent in Second Life.
    If one day those people should be the majority in Second Life, then – I assure you – Linden won’t keep it open just for charity reasons.
    Actually I like SL, but I see light AND shadows that it has. I think the Firestorm campaign is great job. But what is all the work good for, if people arrive in SL just to join all the other new people who left and leave SL day by day because it’s far not so like the fancy banners promise.

    Consul

    January 20, 2016